Vegetable Broth

Recipe Type: Homemade Recipe (see Recipes page)

I use almost the exact same recipe as Whole Foods Homemade Vegetable Broth, I just don’t peel my carrots.

Prep Time: 15 minutes                    Cook Time: 2+hours                    Yields: 8-10 cups

Ingredients:

  • 2 medium yellow onions, sliced
  • 3 medium carrots, roughly chopped
  • 2 stalks celery, roughly chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, halved
  • 1 medium potato, chopped
  • 3 bay leaves
  • 2 teaspoons whole black peppercorns
  • 4 sprigs parsley (from my herb garden!)

Directions:

  • In a large pot, place all ingredients in 1 gallon of water and bring to boil.
  • Reduce to a simmer and cook for 2 hours without a lid. Check flavor by taste; if it’s too watery, continue to cook in increments of 20-30 minutes until it has sufficient flavor.
  • Strain with a mesh sieve, then transfer to mason jars.
  • Let it cool, then store refrigerated until ready for use.

Note: I typically only make vegetable broth when I know I’ll be making a meal that week which requires it. Dan likes to drink vegetable broth by itself with a bagel or bread, so I don’t have a concern about the excess going to waste. If you are not planning to use the full 8 to 10 cups within the week, I suggest paring down the recipe to yield the correct amount needed, or freeze what you will not immediately use.